Coming Soon!

This is going to be a perpetual (ongoing) challenge, and it will start on June 30th, 2008.

The challenge is to create (and read) a list of books you’ve always heard people rave about and thought you should read yourself…but always put off reading “until later”.

Now is the time to get those books read!

HERE’S HOW TO PLAY:

  • You can choose books that you’ve recently heard of IF a bunch of people are raving about how good they are and how everyone should read them.
  • Your list has to have at least 3 books on it. Of course, you can make it much longer than just 3 books. But, you could also just read 3. That’s up to you.
  • Yes, your list of books can overlap with other challenges.
  • There are no limitations on genre… books can be fiction, nonfiction, religious, secular, etc.
  • Audiobooks and E-books are allowed
  • Your list can change at any time, but the books you add still have to be “raved about” reads
  • You do not have to physically own the books on your list — you can add books that you’re going to borrow/buy, too! (I sure have/am!) πŸ™‚
  • You can count ONE book from your list that you finished before the start date of June 30, 2008
  • You can continue to add to your list as time goes on (since the challenge is perpetual/ongoing), but the books you add still have to be “raved-about”, as per the other rules
  • You can join the challenge any time, even if it’s past June 30/08. Just leave a comment on this post (see below for “sign up” instructions)
  • Feel free to share how you’re doing with the challenge on the Finished Books page! Just leave a comment there, after the start of the challenge, telling us how you’re progressing (or struggling). πŸ˜‰
  • There is a Yahoo! Group created for this group — feel free to join, and talk with other challenge participants about how you’re doing on your list! You do not have to join the group to be part of the challenge, but it makes sharing about your challenge progress a lot easier. πŸ˜‰

((There may, or may not, be more rules coming. πŸ˜‰ Stay tuned!))

If you’re stuck for some “popular” titles, you can check out my own list on the MizB’s List page, or my Suggestions page.

Also, there are BUTTONS for your use available on the “About” page.

To sign up: Please leave me a comment with a link to where your list will be, and then I’ll link to you in a list in the sidebar!

32 Comments

Filed under Challenge Rules

32 responses to “Coming Soon!

  1. Hi! This is Becky from Becky’s Book Reviews (http://blbooks.blogspot.com) I’m joining in on this one. Here is my list. It *might* change as the challenge progresses. But I’ll read at least three from the original list if that helps.

    http://blbooks.blogspot.com/2008/05/raved-about-reads-challenge.html

  2. mizbooks

    just checking to be sure leaving a comment works…

  3. Amy

    I have a beginning list posted. I am sure I will continue to add to it since the challenge is on-going.

    Here’s my list.

    Thanks for hosting!

    Amy
    http://readingtoolate.net

  4. Hi this is Jaimie from Bell Literary Reflections and I’d like to join in on this challenge. Since so many of my TBR’s are recommendations from other bloggers this is a great way to finally read them! My beginning list is posted here http://lovingmyhome.blogspot.com/2008/05/sunday-salon_18.html
    Thanks for hosting this!
    Jaimie

  5. Kim

    Hi!
    I am Kim from Page After Page and want to join along! Here is
    a link to my post with my choices–I am sure it will grow as my list of to-be-reads grows faster than I can keep up…especially with all the wonderful book blogs I visit!
    *smiles*
    Kim
    http://pageafterpage-kim.blogspot.com/2008/05/another-day-another-challenge.html

  6. Amy

    Hi Jenn-

    Kim from Page after Page left a comment at my blog and said that she would like to join this challenge but is having trouble leaving a comment. Here is a link to her site.

    http://pageafterpage-kim.blogspot.com/2008/05/another-day-another-challenge.html

    Could you sign her up please?
    Thanks,
    Amy(The Sleepy Reader)

  7. This is a great challenge for me. Thanks for setting it up Jenn!

    Here’s the link to my post, I have a partial list on it but since it’s perpetual, I’m sure I will be adding to it.

    http://teddyrose.blogspot.com/2008/05/raved-about-reads-challenge.html

  8. Hi this is Whitney from She is too Fond of Books and I’d love to join this challenge! I started a list but it will most likely grow over time as this is a perpetual challenge.

    Thank you for hosting!

    http://bookwormwhit.livejournal.com/57724.html

  9. Hi Jenn,

    I’ve added the first 10 books I want to read for this challenge on my blog Passion for the Page. I’ll add to the list as I hear of new books (or remember old ones) that are recommended.

  10. I am interested in joining this challenge.

    I will need to come up with my books to read for this challenge.

    http://www.realityshowgirl.wordpress.com

  11. Pingback: Two more challenges « Book Addiction

  12. Laura

    This sounds like a lot of fun. Here’s a link to my list on Goodreads:

    http://www.goodreads.com/review/list/346637?shelf=raved-about-reads-challenge

  13. I’d like to join in with this challenge. I’ll come up with a list shortly.

    Lisa

    Luvbooks7.wordpress.com

  14. This keeps disappearing on me. I would like to join, will have my books after the heat wave ends. I uaw rhw Novel Challenge list for my books http://groups.yahoo.com/group/ANovelChallenge/files/

  15. What a great challenge idea! I will work on my list this afternoon – need to be sitting in front of my bookshelves to pick some books that I bought when recommended by others but haven’t yet read.
    My list will be on my blog:
    http://unwrittenreads.blogspot.com/

  16. Hi there, I’m Josette from Books Love Me and I’d like to join this challenge! πŸ™‚

    My short list of books is here.

  17. Great challenge!

    My list for the challenge is here.

  18. I like the idea of reading excellent books, books other people are raving about. I’d love to join this challenge, even though I’m horrible about challenges!

    http://readthink.edublogs.org/2008/06/30/raved-about-book-challenge/

  19. Cool thing: The author of one of the books on my Raved-About Book Challenge list sent me a comment today, thanking me for including her book on my list! She is Suzanne Stremper Shea and her book is Sundays in America: A Yearlong Road Trip in Search of Christian Faith. I just got the book today, so I’m starting it next!

  20. Would it be too much trouble to move me to my other blog? I posted the list in both places, but the Blogger blog is much prettier than the Edublog blog. It’s at readerbuzz.blogspot.com.

  21. I would like to join this challenge. It’s a good way to start crossing of books from my TBR list.

  22. I am going to join in this – am going to mosey over and join the yahoo group too. Love that it is perpetual as there are ALWAYS rave books to look out for πŸ™‚

    My list is in my challenge blog – but has started with:

    * New moon by Stephanie Meyer – the second book in the raved about ‘Twilight’ series

    * The Dead and the Gone by Susan Beth Pfeffner – the second book after the raved over book ‘Life as we knew it’ this second one has been getting great raves too.

    * The Sunday Wife by Cassandra King – has been raved about by a few on-line Christian friends

  23. Oh, I forgot to post my list!!

    Here it is:

    Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, by J.K. Rowling
    Marley and Me – by John Grogan
    Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller
    The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
    The Secret by Rhonda Byrne

  24. Thanks for hosting a great challenge. My list can be found on my blog side bar and here.

  25. I would love to join if it’s not too late πŸ™‚

  26. I will post my list momentarily. Thanks for motivation to finally get moving on these books!

  27. I’m joining in. I’m stealing my list from websites I found πŸ˜› but here’s my post: http://bookgeekblogger.blogspot.com/2010/08/raved-about-reads-challenge.html

Leave a Reply

